Curricular Unit:Code:
Integrated Clinic I841CIT1
Year:Level:Course:Credits:
5MasterDentistry6 ects
Learning Period:Language of Instruction:Total Hours:
Winter SemesterPortuguese/English78
Learning Outcomes of the Curricular Unit:
Acquire knowledge and enable the development of competencies that allow students to evaluate the information collected from the patient and be able to give clinical response, with adequate posture and means of communication in the areas of endodontics and dentistry, oral surgery, periodontics, imaging, pharmacology, as well as providing scientific support for the comprehension of techniques and materials, simple and advanced, fundamental for the diagnosis, planning and execution of treatment, always with the guidance of the teacher. In this UC, it is necessary that the student can develop clinical exams and use diagnostic aids, being able to develop a diagnosis and plan the priorities of therapeutic and prophylactic treatment in different areas.
Syllabus:
Dental Fissures and Fractures
Drug prescription: practical rules of the different methods
Data protection in daily clinical practice
Nutritional deficiencies with oral manifestations
Drug and medical device circuit
Establishment of criteria for planning physical therapy treatments in dentistry
Dental Medicine versus Speech Therapy
facial harmonization - the dentist intervention limits
Basic knowledge of photographic techniques most used in dentistry
Ergonomics in Dental Medicine
Antibiotics, anti-inflammatory and analgesics
Antibiotics, Anti-Inflammatory Drugs and Analgesics/Prescription Guidelines
Anxiety in the office Medical Dental
Burnout in Dental Medicine
Demonstration of the Syllabus Coherence with the Curricular Unit's Objectives:
Theoretical (T; 1 weekly hour; Total: 15h): Approach of theoretical topics in the areas of endodontics, oral surgery, orthodontics, imaging, pharmacology (antibiotics and anti-inflammatory drugs), general data protection regulation and disinfection cycle of instruments. Laboratory practice (PL; 6 hours per week in clinical environment; Total: 90h): Patient care within the integrated clinic I, in clinical environment. Tutorial guidance (OT; 7.5 hours) + other sessions (O; 7.5 hours): Clinical case-oriented research. Oriented research and the selection of appropriate scientific bibliography in the context of the topics described in the program of this curricular unit, thus fostering scientific reading, the development of critical capacity and contact with scientific nomenclature, as well as the motivation for the elaboration of research papers and scientific presentations in the field of discipline.
Teaching Methodologies (Including Evaluation):
The evaluation results from the weighting of 20% of the theoretical component (T) and 80% of the laboratory practical component (PL) in clinical practice and will be carried out in accordance with the current pedagogical regulation. The evaluation regime of the component (T) comprises the realization of a written test according to the program. The minimum approval rating in the written test will be 10 values. The non-obtaining of a minimum classification in the written test refers the student to a resource examination at the time for this purpose, fixed in the academic timeline. Laboratory Practice (PL) evaluation includes assiduity (90%), punctuality and posture in patient care, scientific, technical and relational competencies, quality of clinical work, organization and cleaning of the work space. The class assistance scheme is adopted in the current pedagogical regulation. To obtain the credit the student will have to ensure the achievement of 6 ECTS.
Demonstration of the Coherence between the Teaching Methodologies and the Learning Outcomes:
Theoretical classes (T; 15 hours; 1 hours per week)-are intended to expose and update, in a descriptive and organisational way, the concepts, theories and postulates described in the programmatic contents of the integrated clinic I, which, supported by a bibliography, aim to develop competences Scientific and professional students. Laboratory practice classes (PL; 90 hours; 6 hours per week)-sessions performed at the clinic Weekly, where patient care will be performed by the students, who will be supervised and monitored by the responsible professors. Diagnoses and treatments will be performed in the areas of dentistics, surgery, endodontics and Periodontics, according to the protocols and norms of good clinical practice, for the development of therapeutic competencies and the improvement of various techniques Promoting the clinical care of patients with posture, quality and safety. Lessons OT (7.5 hours): Student orientation sessions, in order to enable them to achieve the following objectives: correctly use bibliographies; Develop scientific research methods to support cases observed in the clinical practice of UC. Lessons O (7.5 hours): Free sessions, in order to enable the student to correctly use auxiliary diagnostic means (e.g. photography, imaging) and medical devices with clinical applicability within the integrated clinical I.
Reading:
1. Cohen’s Pathways of the Pulp” Eleventh Edition, Elsevier, Pag 793- 815; 2. Antibióticos, autor J.C.Sousa e cols. Ed. U.F.Pessoa; 3. Goodman and Gilman - The pharmacological basis of therapeutics - 13ª edição; 4. Susanibar, F. et al. (2016). Motricidad Orofacial - fundamentos basados en evidencia - volumen 2. Madrid Editorial EOS; 5. Hokwerda O, Ruijter R, Shaw S. Adopting a healthy sitting working posture during patient treatment. 1ªe.d. Groningen, NL; 2006; 6. REGIS FILHO, Gilsée Ivan et al. Ergonomia aplicada à Odontologia:as doenças de caráter ocupacional e o cirurgião-dentista. Curitiba:DTI, 2007; 7. Biasotto-Gonzalez, DA. (2005). Abordagem Interdisciplinar das disfunções temporomandibulares. São Paulo. Editora Manole; 8. Insel P., Ross D., Bernstein M. (eds.). Nutrition. Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2018 (6th edition); Stranding, S. (2020). Gray’s Anatomy, 42 th edition , Elsevier.
Lecturer (* Responsible):
Alexandra Arcanjo (aarcanjo@ufp.edu.pt)
Alexandra Martins (alexmar@ufp.edu.pt)
Augusta Silveira (augusta@ufp.edu.pt)
Beatriz Monteiro (beatrizm@ufp.edu.pt)
Duarte Guimarães (duarteg@ufp.edu.pt)
Filipa Pinto de Oliveira (fmoliveira@ufp.edu.pt)
Helena Neves (hneves@ufp.edu.pt)
João Carlos Sousa (jcsousa@ufp.edu.pt)
Jorge Augusto Pereira (jorgepereira@ufp.edu.pt)
Jorge Pereira (jpereira@ufp.edu.pt)
José de Macedo (jmacedo@ufp.edu.pt)
José Frias Bulhosa (jfrias@ufp.edu.pt)
Liliana Gavinha Costa (lilianac@ufp.edu.pt)
Liliana Teixeira (lilianat@ufp.edu.pt)
Maria João Begonha (mbegonha@ufp.edu.pt)
Mariana Cervaens (cervaens@ufp.edu.pt)
Miguel Albuquerque Matos (msmatos@ufp.edu.pt)
Paulo Araújo (pauloaraujo@ufp.edu.pt)
Pedro Barata (pbarata@ufp.edu.pt)
Pedro Teixeira Santos (pedrosantos@ufp.edu.pt)
Rita Guerra (ritaguerra@ufp.edu.pt)
Sandra Gavinha (sgavinha@ufp.edu.pt)
Tiago Reis (tiagofaria@ufp.edu.pt)
Vanda Urzal (vandaurzal@ufp.edu.pt)
Vânia Peixoto (vpeixoto@ufp.edu.pt)